Dramatic Running

I don’t know why, but for some reason the new kitty–who, good lord, by this point isn’t remotely new, but the nickname has stuck–has started running dramatically through the house. Not zoomies. But just, when she needs to get somewhere, rather than walking, she runs.

It cracks me up because it’s just so weird.

The other night, I heard a lone coyote singing very close by. I think it must be more common than I realize, because the dog slept through it. Last night he barked at my across-the-street neighbors for, as usual, getting out of their car. I’m just saying–he normally barks at anything.

I continue to fret about the orange cat. He continues a slow decline marked by periods of forgetting he’s in decline where he tries to get the dog to play with him. I just don’t want him to suffer, but cats are so grouchy, how do you know when they’re physically suffering and when they’re just overburdened by the ennui of constantly dealing with fools?

5 thoughts on “Dramatic Running

  1. My (recently tested) indicators are eating enough, able to sleep comfortably, and breathing. And mobility issues. I suspect my oldest dog’s arthritis will be the deciding factor-either too much pain or liver failure from the meds she’s on. Getting old sucks all around.

  2. “how do you know when they’re physically suffering and when they’re just overburdened by the ennui of constantly dealing with fools?”

    Also Guinevere. Who us a very cat-like grouchy dog.

  3. I’ve been wrestling with this question for 3 years because it has taken that long to train my current cat to complain about things to me. Cats will go to insane lengths to pretend they are fine right up until death — it’s a survival thing for tiny opportunistic predators. The best suggestion I have is: If he eats even a bite less food, he’s sick. Otherwise, it’s hard to say.

  4. I mean, after a summer where he insisted he could no longer jump up on things, he’s now jumping up on things. So, I guess he’s doing fine? I truly thought he would go out in some ridiculous way, like picking a fight with a bear or that he’d just one day be dead when I woke up. I never considered the possibility of a long, gradual decline.

Comments are closed.