You’re Old When the Feminists Hate You, Right?

Apparently, according to the Nashville Feminist Collective, I’m classist because I’m appalled that the downtown library smells bad and people on the third floor when I visited were acting sketchy as hell.

I thought about responding something like “I think ‘classist’ is when you accept behavior in some men that would unnerve you from other men because you’ve decided the men ‘below’ you wouldn’t dare hurt you,” but that seemed unnecessarily antagonistic.

I’ve been around the internet a long time. I’ve been a feminist on the internet a long time. These things come in cycles. But it’s never a good sign for feminists when attention turns from wanting to be able to fully engage with the world without having our gender count against us toward auditing the ideas of other women for wrong thinking.

Not only is it a huge, hurtful waste of time, you can’t behave yourself into freedom. There’s no “if I line up all my ducks in a row and never let them out of line, then I’ll get what I want, therefore, the people critiquing my duck-lining are my friends and doing me a favor.” No.

If behaving properly is what got women liberation, people wouldn’t hate feminists so much.

5 thoughts on “You’re Old When the Feminists Hate You, Right?

  1. Pingback: SayUncle » No, you’re not old . . .

  2. “But it’s never a good sign for feminists when attention turns from wanting to be able to fully engage with the world without having our gender count against us toward auditing the ideas of other women for wrong thinking.”

    Because this is not feminism, it’s marxism. I’ve studied it. Fought the cold war against it and now it’s here. Don’t confuse the two or it’s off the re-ed camp for you. It’s hurtful on purpose, it’s not a waste of time and it’s not about freedom. You ascribe your own sense of the world to those that want to harm you and your country. They don’t care about you or your freedom. They will hurt you to gain power, our lives are in danger from this. You have lowered the importance of it in your own estimation and this allows it to continue to spread.

    Try telling them; “fuck you marxist. I do, say and think what I want, when I want, and how I want. You try to take this freedom from us and we will kill you.”

  3. Don’t tell me this. Nashville’s library use to be so nice. The vagrants have got to go. They spread disease like pigeons. Call me what you want but you can’t call me wrong.

Comments are closed.