Things

1. The Scene has a really cool cover story this week, which I felt skirted a little too close to my territory, but I’m just being possessive.

2. W. has a couple of posts about Civil War Tennessee which I enjoyed about parts of the state that wanted to secede in either direction–Union and Confederate.

3. Governor Baby is going to campaign for his Republican friends. I am dying to see whether he actually has coat-tails anyone can ride. In my opinion, if Governor Baby can actually help people get elected, then you know the poll that showed Obama beating Romney in Tennessee isn’t completely full of shit and that the state may indeed be more moderate than given credit for (though Obama is simply not going to beat Romney here. That part is wrong no matter what.). But if Governor Baby’s endorsement means nothing, then you have evidence that the Republican party is much more conservative than Governor Baby can fake being.

In that case, it will be interesting to watch to see if Governor Baby accepts his positioning as a moderate and works that side of the street more heavily to try to drum up enough Democratic support to get reelected.

5 thoughts on “Things

  1. You know, I really dislike giving fake names to politicians and parties that one doesn’t like. It sends me right up the wall, whoever is doing it. I consider it both a contribution to and a symbol of things that have gone wrong in politics in this country over the past 20 or 30 years. So it is with great shame that I confess that “Governor Baby” makes me giggle every time I read it. I wish it didn’t, but it does.

  2. Did you click through and read the proclamation Franklin County put out? That was some impressive insult writing.

Comments are closed.