I’d Like Two Words

Wanted: One word that would encompass Coble, Abramson, Exador, etc. and another word that would encompass Frank, Oatney, Campfield, etc. Clearly, those are two vastly different groups of folks that, though they share a lot in common, differ so widely in whether they make sense that really, they shouldn’t be lumped under the same giant umbrella.

So, anyway, I swear this will be my last post about pitbulls for a while. I just could not let this pass when I saw Joe Powell mention it, but clearly, a person could devote her whole life to refuting the things Oatney, Frank (were I still reading her), and Campfield say. Still, this comment thread over at Volunteer Voters is ripe for snarking.

Let’s give it a cursory try.

1. David Oatney, “aborticide” makes no sense as a word. “Abort” means to miscarry. It’s a verb. “-Cide” means to kill or to cut and it refers to the thing that comes right before it. One cannot kill miscarrying just as one cannot kill walking or bike riding or thinking, though, Lord knows, if anyone were committing “thoughtoside” in that thread, it’s the person trying to pass off “aborticide” as a word. Abortion not a gruesome enough term for you? Then call it fetucide (the killing of a fetus) or clumpocellicide or whatever. Just don’t be mangling the English language in an effort to score points with your fellow advocates of making women property of the State.

2. How funny and right on is Brittney? Yep, exactly. Somehow, Oatney is trying to argue that dog fighting is an integral part of the culture over in his neck of the woods and folks who oppose it are somehow elitists who just don’t understand his culture.

3. And didn’t you just cheer a little when Joe Powell was all “Yes, David, I, too, live over here and have somehow managed to not become immune to the grossness of blood sports.”?

4. It’s funny how David Oatney thinks that insinuating that East Tennesseans are amoral monsters who he understands, even if no one else does, is somehow standing up for the common man.

Anyway, it’s really threads like that that make me wonder if those conservatives ever reread what they say and cringe at how ridiculous they are. I mean, really, both Frank and Oatney seem to be arguing that, as long as women can have abortions, well, by golly, dogs will just have to suffer.

Shoot, is there anything women haven’t fucked up for everyone else? First we bring sin into the world, now we’re tying David Davis’s hands when it comes to stopping dog fighting and, I suppose, also forcing Michael Vick to fight them in the first place.

Women. Damn it. Running around ruining it for the rest of us.

Edited to add:  Tiny Pasture has a post up that links to Oatney’s clarification.  I responded.  I crack myself up.

23 thoughts on “I’d Like Two Words

  1. Pingback: Volunteer Voters » What’s Worse, Abortion Or Dogfighting? Does it Matter?

  2. Dag nabbit, I want to make that my new tag line… The Editor: Ruining for the rest of us since 1966.

    Yup! I’m one of those women running around ruining for the rest of us.
    In fact, I’m (at this very moment) running around with scissors!
    I know, I know… someone could lose an eye, and it’s all fun and games until someone loses an eye.

  3. Those two words you’re looking for? How about ‘coherent’ and ‘incoherent’? In all senses.

  4. Pingback: Music City Bloggers » Blog Archive » Davis Disses Stricter Dogfighting Laws

  5. So while we godless heathen aborticidanistifistians* are being firebombed into submission with “it’s not a choice, it’s a child,” we are supposed to accept that dogs choose to fight for money? While people scream and encourage them?

    If you’re protecting the innocent pre-born babies from the aborticidanistifistians, you need to protect the innocent living breathing barking pups from the money-grubbing low-life dog-fighting bastids, too.

    * If I am one, I can make up my own word, too, then.

  6. What.the.hell.

    Seriously. I’ll say it again. What is THAT?!?

    I feel like I just witnessed one of those party games where everyone walks around with a phrase taped to his or her forehead and the game is to decipher what’s going on with the other folks, while no coherent conversation takes place.

    Someone should clearly break down for some of these people the differences between abortion, blood sport, and making your barbecue with either vinegar- or tomato-based sauce.

    “Y’all baby-killers out there don’t understand our ways up here in the hills” is NOT an acceptable rationale for the countenance of cruelty.

  7. P.S. — And I speak as a card-carrying seventh-generation Tennessee Redneckian citizen. Who whipped a cousin’s ass when she found out he was raising fightin’ roosters.

    I guess I ruined it for all of southern Middle Tennessee, then, didn’t I? Damn.

    Got where you can’t do NOTHIN’ anymore.

  8. You know what would be awesome? A cage match between Stacey Campfield, mixed martial arts expert, and, like, three or four of these dogs. It would have to be a charitable event, of course, for ethical purposes.

  9. In fairness, Oatney’s much more thoughtful (and, I suspect, much more intelligent)than Frank. He’s worth reading for a different perspective.

  10. Oatney’s much more thoughtful (and, I suspect, much more intelligent)than Frank.

    I can’t speak to the level of intelligence of either–for all I know they both kick in dues at MENSA.

    But…Oatney writes his own stuff. He takes the time to parse his thoughts,and I like that. Even if I don’t agree with the thoughts, at least there’s a ‘there’ there.

    Frank just regurgitates AP/Reuters/Limbaugh and puts her spin on it. I don’t need a jingoist babelfish to interpret my news for me.

    Then again, that’s just me.

  11. “Oatney writes his own stuff. He takes the time to parse his thoughts,and I like that. Even if I don’t agree with the thoughts, at least there’s a ‘there’ there.

    Frank just regurgitates AP/Reuters/Limbaugh and puts her spin on it.”

    That too.

  12. Yes, exactly. I at least have a sense that there’s a person behind those posts who can be interacted with, even if I disagree with him.

  13. Well, in an effort to please the greatest number of people possible, why don’t we just arrange to have a sport where fetuses fight for money?

  14. That makes sense to me, Kat. OK, I’ll bookmark him.

    ok, no I won’t. But I might follow a link thingie.

  15. La BellaDonna, the only problem with that is that fetuses have such tiny arms and legs. Would they just butt heads like mountain goats?

    Mack, that comment made me go all *hrucnik* as I tried to laugh and not choke at the same time.

  16. I can’t speak to the level of intelligence of either–for all I know they both kick in dues at MENSA.

    Being a dues paying member of MENSA is surely a sign of a lack of intelligence. At the very least, a lack of self-esteem.

  17. Well, in an effort to please the greatest number of people possible, why don’t we just arrange to have a sport where fetuses fight for money?

    Dude, I’d pay big money to see that. Their mommas stand belly-to-belly and wear logo-ized tees with the tummies cut out and we could watch on ultrasound. The fetsuses would be all be all “EHN! EHN!” (flailing) “EEEEHN!” (kicking) and then they’d get tired and go back to sucking their itty-bitty thumbs.

    Mark Burnett, if you use any of this, you owe LaBellaDonna, me and B. some big money and some producer credits. You have been warned.

  18. Please ignore the duplicated “be all” in the previous post. In my excitement, I failed to self-edit before hitting “submit.”

    I do that a lot IRL, too.

  19. Dogfighting isn’t just an East Tennessee problem, but a national issue requiring a federal response.

    This isn’t about usurping state’s rights or Big Government, but this is about strengthening existing laws so state and federal law enforcement can bring down organized criminal dogfighting rings.

    By his shameful vote, David Davis Defended Dogfighting and gave criminals a free-pass.

    A Peaceful Picket Line Protest Against Congressman David Davis and his Shameful Vote Against the ANIMAL FIGHTING PROHIBITION ENFORCEMENT ACT, which was supported by more than 400 separate U.S. law enforcement agencies and passed in the U.S. Senate with a 100% vote, will take place at the entrance to Bristol Motor Speedway on Thursday, August 9th at 5:30 P.M. where Dogfighting Defender David Davis will be holding a re-election fundraiser. Congressman David Davis was the ONLY Member of Congress from Tennessee to vote against this bill; Let’s Send A Message Across the District That DAVID DAVIS DOES NOT SPEAK FOR US! Disgruntled Dogs are welcome.

  20. Pingback: Music City Bloggers » Blog Archive » Dog Days for the Congressman

  21. The Animal Fighting Prohibition Enforcement Act, passed in March of this year, was supported by more than 400 separate U.S. law enforcement agencies and passed in the U.S. Senate with a 100% vote.

    David Davis was the ONLY member of Tennessee’s congressional delegation to vote against this bill.

    His excuse? Tennessee already had a law against dogfighting. Davis said, “I love dogs, but I love the Constitution of the United States more.”

    Although animal fighting is prohibited by state laws from coast to coast, it is estimated that there are at least 40,000 professional dogfighters in the United States.

    Dogfighting isn’t just an East Tennessee problem. It’s a national problem, and it requires a national response.

    This isn’t about usurping state’s rights or expanding the power of the federal government.
    This is about local, state, and federal law enforcement working together to bring down organized criminal dogfighting rings to protect our families and communities.

    It takes an exceedinlgy cheap, cynical, unmitigated coward to cower behind the United States Constitution as a political fig-leaf. This was a bad vote based on bad judgment and a true embarrassment for the people of East Tennessee.

    David Davis Defended Dogfighters and gave criminals a free-pass. Now, that’s a doggone shame!

Comments are closed.