The Vampire’s Quilt

Here’s a photo of a quilt Mercy Brown made, before she became a vampire. And before her brother was forced to drink the ashes of her heart.

Which is, ugh, not good. Still, if one of my brothers is forced to consume my heart, I’d rather him drink the ashes than just gnaw on it.

I also, out of spite, would probably not quit trying to suck the life out of him, though. Let’s be honest.

They Never Call When You Want Them To

I got a couple of rambly texts from my mom, but I have heard nothing in person from them about how the family reunion went. And yet, they’ll call me up to gossip about people at a church I’ve never attended, whom I’ve never met, and don’t know.

Parents these days, I swear.

In other news, I’m trying to read The Diviners and I need to know if any of you have read it, because I need to know if the “I’m narrating things like I’m a stereotype of a twenties flapper” thing fades into the background more or what. Because I found the opening chapter really scary and the next chapter almost insufferable. Does it get better? I think the story sounds really interesting, but I’m not sure I can stick it out.

Also, the dog smell like burning roux. I’m not sure why.

The Butcher assures me the den will be empty by Monday. I have to tell you, I’m a little terrified it will not be.