I Own a Garage Door Opener!

That, for me, is what makes it real.  I don’t know why, but getting the keys seemed pretty ordinary.  When he handed over the garage door openers, that’s when I almost lost it.  How weird is it to be a person who owns a garage door opener?

The closing was very smooth.  Kathy Tyson was there and Rhonda Hall from the bank and the Butcher, all watching as I signed and signed and signed.  I was tickled to see the deed to the house and felt I was doing my part for future historians by signing it.

And then we went to Richard’s to eat and it was so much food for so little and Richard himself brought us out a special dessert and sang Happy New House to us.  Ice cream sprinkled with cinnamon, then covered with flaming bananas and candied pecans.

It’s a weird life, sometimes, you know?

25 thoughts on “I Own a Garage Door Opener!

  1. Congrats! The first one is always the best one. :-)

    You’re one up on me. I haven’t ever owned my own garage door opener.

  2. Happy new house to you, happy new house to you, happy new house to yooo-u, happy new house to you!

    Here’s to many years of happy, relatively stress-free homeownership!

    *clink*

  3. Pingback: SayUncle » Congrats

  4. I’ve never had a garage door opener. I did have a garage door once, but no opener. Now I have a gravel driveway. So can I come over and play with yours?

    Congrats!

  5. Congratulations! And the flaming banana ice cream sounds delicious…so, congratulations on that, too! (I’m very hungry at the moment.)

  6. Congratulations B! I’m so happy for you. You and the Butcher (and whoever else happens along) are going to be so happy there, I know it.

    And Mrs. W. will LOVE it, of course. Happy dog! :)

  7. Pingback: Crisis Averted! « GingerSnaps

Comments are closed.