Tick, Tick, Boom

It’s funny. I can sleep through a thunderstorm no problem. But I woke up last night and knew there was a motherfucking tick on me. Could feel it. But every time I went to grab it, it would fall off, somewhere, down in the bed. Finally I caught it and flushed it.

But man, that made me laugh. Huge lightning and thunder doesn’t faze me. But that tiny tick sensation? I can’t sleep through that nonsense.

My cousin’s kid is in surgery this morning for his tumor, which they still don’t think is malignant, but it’s huge, like 11×7 inches. From what my aunt says, it sounds like they’re just going in between the ribs and cutting it up and sucking it out so that his recovery time is lessened. No word on whether my uncle interprets this as a message from God meaning, “No matter how bad things seem, I can still work in some good stuff” or “Go to church or next time I will kill your kid.”

Also, I remain in chicken-shit mode about discussing the book with my parents. Ha ha ha.

And I need to get to Tractor Supply and get some Frontline for the damn cats. We used to blame ticks on the dog, but she can’t get up in my bed any more and the orange cat has taken to napping there.

I’m feeling a little nervous about all the rain. God, I hope we don’t flood again.