Haunted

Tanglethis has a good post that y’all should go over and mull on a little.  My thought is that of course you can have great modern ghost stories.  Shoot, I both want to see again and never want to see again The Orphanage.  And surely the haunted house will always be with us (at least as long as we’re living in houses).

And I think the analysis of a ghost story being so similar to a detective story is so spot on I wish I’d have thought it.  But, and it’s a big but, I think that the resolutions of detective stories are always so satisfying where as the resolutions of ghost stories are almost never.  How can they be?  You both want the ghost to go away and dread its absence.   The explanation is both the resolution and the ruination of the story.

Well, Since the World Isn’t Ending…

I’m getting busy imagining weddings for my favorite couples.  ‘Coma, can we put Mabel in a tux?

Oh, I know, we’re still decades off from this happening in Tennessee.  We’ll probably have to amend our state constitution five different times, each to make gay marriage even more illegal than the last.  Shoot, by the time we get it out of our systems, it will be illegal for two guys to even stand next to each other in the bathroom.  All proctology exams will have to be done by women.  Lebanese people will not be allowed to live in the state, on the off chance our children will get confused.

But it’s still going to happen.

I can’t wait.

Well, In All Fairness, Dead Vets Don’t Smoke

Because nothing says “Good Idea” like giving folks with PTSD a drug that causes hallucinations and suicidal thoughts, the VA helped enroll PTSD-suffering veterans in the Chantix trials.

You don’t have to be a genius to guess what happens next.

I wish I had something to say, more than this, but I don’t really know what it would be.  The way that our government and big business are always in the process of colluding against us…

I don’t know how we get back from that.  I really don’t.

And I am so sorry that we continue to send folks off to war just so that we can bring them home and call them liars and fakers and crazy people, while we do fucked up things to them.

A person should have a right to be safe in his own body.  If you can’t have that, what have you got?

Hobbs Tries His Hand at Subliminal Messages

So, I’m reading along to Bill Hobbs like I do every morning and I notice he’s got weird letters in his latest post bolded where others are not.

And I think, “Hmm.  This is odd.  Is it some kind of secret message?”

Let’s take a look:

Via Kleinheider: Fred Hobbs* Apologizes for saying Barack Obama has connections to terrorists and blames Fox News for using its magic powers to put that baseless and crazy notion in his head.

* Absolutely no relation to me whatsoever.

That’s Ayrbombr…

What the fuck?

Ayersbomber.

Oh, Ayers bomber.

Ha, that’s kind of clever.  You know, if it were still 1970.

But, by all means, go on.  I love it when the Baby Boomers act as if they are the most important people on the planet and their concerns and triumphs and tragedies must continue to be the defining moments for our country.

I’m sure “We’re still pissed about things that happened before you were born” will make a stirring campaign slogan for the Republicans this fall.